almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-01-09 - 8:33 a.m.

Pouring rain! Driving winds! Bitter cold! This sick girl is staying home, in bed, drinking tea. Alas, I feel too nauseus for anything stronger regardless of its, uh, "medicinal purposes". I envision a fun-filled day of napping with the cat. If I'm up for it, I may even finish off the last two essays in "It Must Have Been Something I Ate". I have put off reading them since I've enjoyed the book so much I don't want it to be over. It's almost enough to cause me to subscribe to Vogue, so I can get my fix on a more regular basis...

An email list I'm on sent out a missive alerting me to yet another charming addendum to the yahoo privacy policy (I use their email, photos, and groups functionality as do most people I know). In addition to the omniprescent cookies used throughout yahoo to track the pages you're viewing and how you navigate, Yahoo is now using what they call "Web Beacons" to track Yahoo Group users around the net (on select Web sites that have, presumably, paid Yahoo for this service) and linking some of your demographic data to you as you navigate through such a site. For specific details, look at their updated privacy statement.

You may wish to go to the "Outside the Yahoo! Network" section and click the link that allows you to opt out... But be careful. The resulting "success" page has a big fat button link (similar to ones used on other sites to go back to your original page or to close a pesky window). It's actually a "cancel opt-out" button. If you click it, you'll undo the opting-out you just performed.

Thought I'd share that with you.

I have Paris on the brain. Every time I log on to the NY Times, it seems they have yet another article on all the fun and charming things I could be doing if only I were in Paris. It seems ike a big flashing neon sign, directing me towards Paris as my next excursion, even though the cuisine of Spain so tempting...

Now that we have our work-sponsored event dates hammered out, I can finally figure out when I can run off for a few weeks with the minmal amount of hassle. I'm thinking sooner rather than later, even though March weather isn't so nice, because I am getting the impression that my favorite member of senior management is getting some serious offers to leave. The fact that he handed me a phone number yesterday to call a former colleague of his about what could be a kick ass job makes his departure the more likely...And yes, I will be calling that number later today. Change is good.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.