almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-05-30 - 5:11 a.m.

RE: frien*ster

notre dame interior I ran across a profile on frien*ster of someone whose journal I read elsewhere. Said person has at least 100 readers of his journal, and receives a minimum of a dozen comments every time he updates (due, in part, to him being a cute boy.) Yet he only had 4 friends listed in his profile.

When I asked him about it, he said he just "didn't get it". This led me to ponder what it is I like about the site exactly.

Overall, I like the whole 6 Degrees of Separation (or 6 Degrees of Kevin Bacon if you prefer that) idea. And to become acquainted with friends of friends of friends so easily, finding them by common interest, is very cool. It's like a party without the hangover. Mostly though, it's like a cross between nerve, the profile to an online journal, and a missed connections support group...

;)

Since joining, I ran across someone who ran in the same circle of music loving indie record store folk as me in college, was told I have a perfect nose, have more NYC folks suggesting cool things to do when I'm next there, and have been invited out to do all sorts of stuff (and I may even accept a few of the invitations.) Clearly, it's destined to be an excellent summer time activity facilitator... right up until they start to try charging money for it, at which point all will be lost.

This week has been painful and nasty work-wise, keeping me from doing any writing at all, other than email and the few posts you see here. This weekend looks busy, but I hope to squeeze in some time for more writing about Paris, and finishng up an interview assignment for my neglected creative writing course (it just hasn't engaged me.) Do wish me luck.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.