almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-06-04 - 7:48 p.m.

what can we do to help?

notre dame Reading partygirl's entry on the homeless problem in NYC made me sad, as it's a problem I confront every day in my City as well...and then I got angry.

Not angry at the City for not providing more money to try and help solve the problem. Rather, angry that we have a surplus of unemployed folks with plenty of time on their hands, more unleased office space than we know what to do with, and a huge population of homeless people, many with substance abuse and mental health issues, and no way to match these folks up with each other for the common good. I'm envisioning something like the PeaceCore, only here in the U.S. -- people giving back to the citizens close to home who need some friendly help.

I would write more, but it's making me mad, so I've gotta go and figure out how to harnass that into something productive.

cheers.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.