almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-12-29 - 11:47 a.m.

season's greetings

My mother only calls me when she has bad news. Death-type bad news.

I hadn't heard from her for quite a while, which means either no one has died in almost two years, or, one of my pets has died but she's saving it up for the inevitable "where's fluffy?" during an in person visit. (is it any wonder why trips home are not on my to do list?) The peculiar/irritating thing is, she never tells me anyone is sick or has died until weeks after she's found out about it.

This one was expected but it's still high on the upsetting list. My favorite grandpa, who was 95, died on the 13th due to complications from leukemia and pneumonia. He'd been admitted to the hospice on the 12th, after having been in the hospital for a few days, apparently.

Since she hadn't called to tell me about this when he was admitted, I didn't even have the opportunity to try to go visit one last time.

We'd sit outside, under the beautiful bright arizona stars, and he'd tell me stories about living in San Francisco in the 20s and 30s, or his travels through the desert southwest with his crazy first wife (who made the ring I wear every day on my right hand.) He tried to teach me all the constellations, and to identify the planets, but I always got too distracted by the beauty of the stars shining in the sky and the warmth of the night to pay close enough attention. He encouraged my photography and my writing, and told me that, no matter what obstacles life put in my path (including my mother), he knew I would overcome them. He always believed in my bright future... He was my poppy and I will miss him very much.

Can't this year be over, already?

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.