almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-12-27 - 9:27 a.m.

record therapy

Young Ones and Big Black singles The bored emo kid who took my money at Amoeba yesterday didn't even take notice of what I was purchasing. I'm guessing he hadn't actually heard/heard of most (or all) of it. I was only 1 step away in line from getting the JAMC fan boy cashier. He would've been amused. Bet I could've even gotten him to sing a few lines from his favorite Big Black song...

You see, in addition to craving grease when I'm sick, I also have a tendency to schlep over to Amoeba and peruse the record stacks. Records make me happy. And being happy at least minimizes the unpleasantness of being sick, n'est pas? I brought home these 7" singles:

  • Cliff Richards & The Young Ones -- "Living Doll" B/W "(All The Little Flowers Are) Happy", $1.00. This Comic Relief benefit single will augment my Young Ones collection quite nicely.
  • Big Black -- "Il Duce", $3.95. I have quite a few of the 12"s, and now this lovely little single... someone appears to have absconded with my copies of "Pigpile" and "The Hammer Party"...grrr...
  • The Sisterhood -- "Giving Ground", $1.95. Will go nicely with my Sisterhood "Gift" LP. Since Andrew hasn't released anything NEW in ages, I have to resort to buying up all the old stuff as I find it in good condition. Sigh. A quick trip to the official Sisters of Mercy Web site, though, notes an unusually large amount of touring this Spring... hmmmmm...
  • Cocteau Twins -- "Loves Easy Tears", $3.95. I believe I have this as a cassette EP, import CD EP, and 12" EP. It's my favorite Cocteau Twins piece, as you may have gathered... I can't even think of a JAMC single/EP that I have in as many formats...

It was after unearthing the Cocteau Twins 7" that I had to step away from the singles and leave quietly. Somehow, I resisted the urge to buy Martha & the Muffins' "Echo Beach" for my friend M, or to buy the Adam & the Ants single that was backed w/"Physical (You're So)"...my record sotrage space is quickly running out so I need to be a smidge more selective about what comes home with me...we don't all have the luxury of a vast radio station record library to house our finds...

P.S. Please take my "completing 2002" survey. THANKS!!

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.