almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-09-13 - 8:32 a.m.

Indian Summer '03

versailles We're in the midst of our annual beautiful Indian Summer heatwave... last night, at the ballpark, in Club level seats, I sat and gorged on garlic fries, a kosher 'dog with onions, an Anchor Steam, and part of a coworkers ghiradelli ice cream sunday, in 85 degree sunshine, offset with a pleasant little breeze. And the Giants kicked butt.

This weather won't hold though -- it's already cooling down. I better take my friend S up on his idea of sangria at esperpento in the mission pretty quickly. Unfortunately, the next 2 weeks are hell for me, so I can't imagine when there will be time for any such fun. Our conference is almost here, and I am taking care of too many last minute details... I'm going in to work today or tomorrow to get caught up, which sucks both because of the nice weather, and because of all the other stuff I want to do, such as:

  • go to the farmers market
  • shop the vintage fashion expo at the Masonic hall
  • read all the magazines sitting on my dining table
  • read my fabulous Granta-published "city secrets" books
  • work on travel scrapbooks
  • finish writing about Paris
  • laundry
  • define travel plans for Oct and Dec
  • find new job
  • make pretty artwork for the mix club mix I've finished, and get it to the coordinator
  • sell some clothes at Wasteland
  • go to the gym (I missed going yesterday -- too much work!)
  • go to Maira's to watch the documentary she shot DV for...
  • go see "Once Upon a Time in Mexico" and "Lost in Translation"
  • make plans for the RESfest music video screenings next weekend

To say I'm overbooked for this weekend would be a massive understatement. I've already ruled out the farmers market on the grounds that the gorgeous figs and tomatoes I bought last week are shrivelled up in my produce basket, because I have been too busy to slice them up and eat them. No more organic produce needs to rot in my apartment this week, thank you.

And next week is even worse, thanks to a 1-5 class each day, and having to pull together all these conference details. I am going to collapse in a little heap after that conference...still undecided about how much time to take off after and when...the only for sure days (at least one of which will be a comp) are the ones following Interpol (where I'm ushering) and the Raveonettes...

Right now though, it's all about drinking more coffee, and having some quality time with the cat.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.