almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-09-11 - 9:03 p.m.

the best friend is an old friend...

versailles Perhaps I have not yet written here about how fabulous the regular barmaid at Toronado is... her braid would suggest her hair is nearly as long as mine is now, though I think she makes up in attitude what her hair lacks in curls... but I realize I am not yet to this part of my story, so please let me backtrack a bit...

Yesterday featured an interview that seemed to go well enough and ended with a request to hold onto my sample book for a while. That must be good, yes? Luckily, they are in a hurry to hire, so I shall know soon enough. The job would likely be fairly boring, but it would be a higher grade level, and the pay increase should finance my yearly vacationing, so that's good enough for me until the economy recovers...

In good spirits, I ran out of work at 5:00 and hopped a Haight Street bus to get myself to Toronado, one of my all-time favorite bars ever.

The aforementioned barmaid carded me, then complimented me on my surly/sassy new ID photo. As I sat and sipped my deschutes black butte porter, and watched vertigo on the TV screen, I waited for a long lost friend to join me. First words out of his mouth, as he sidled up to the bar and immediately sat down next to me: "You're exactly the same." What is it with boys I know and their selective memory? Just how badly have all the other women they know aged, exactly? Ahem.

Anyway, I proceeded to have an amazingly lovely evening catching up w/one of my favorite SD people ever, over beers and kebobs. I also managed to avoid trying any of the firestone beer that was the centerpiece of the night's festivities (firestone red wine, despite its pretty surroundings in the tasting room in Santa Barbara, always tastes of chalky dirt, thus making me wary of their other libations)

There is something so immediately gratifying and comfrotable about renewing old friendships...

I would write more, but heavy box lifting at work today leaves me ouchy, especially when combined with our excessive heat... I need my beauty sleep to deal with tomorrow night's cocktails and ballgame in support of work...please do wish me luck. This is my first attempt at attending a ballgame since my unfortunate incident at the end of June...

And on Saturday night, in the Bay Area at least, the video Maira-Rose shot for the prison documentary is going to finally see an audience on PBS! I hope to head over there after going in to work for a few hours...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.