almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-09-09 - 7:37 p.m.

will write for beer...

versailles garden view Tomorrow is my big interview. I was able to get a big group meeting rescheduled so as to not draw attention to my absence. Of course, this being a big gossipy corporation that I work for, someone who reports to my potential new boss has already chatted about me with my current business partner. This initially filled me with dread, since I know he's loathe to lose me to another group. But, in his own words, he's "over it" now, having realised 3 years in one job is more than enough. Also, I know he's outta here as soon as a headhunter gets him a good enough package elsewhere, especially if elsewhere is NYC.

I am hoping he realised this before or as he was talking about me, and not afterwards... the path to a new job is so fraught with peril. At least I told him as soon as I knew I was moving on to the interview stage. That should have won me some brownie points.

I so need a change of scenery, a raise, and a promotion. This job would be all three. If it falls through, I have the inside track on a promotion within my group. So, either way, my personal situation should improve soon. Either way, NYC in October, and Europe at Xmas. This means I will finally get to raise a pint with Dave! This may be my most well-travelled year ever. This is good though, as it cements my frequent flyer status quite nicely.

I'll be cutting out of work on time tomorrow so I can meet up with an old college friend I've only recently become reacquainted with. He is actually witness to my absolute worst public behavior ever, which I will not detail here. Somehow, despite this, he is still my firend, and is looking forward to our excessive drinking tomorrow. Of course, Buckowski is one of his favorite writers, so it could be argued that he has exceptionally low standards as far as his friends and leisure activities go...

Please think happy thoughts for me and send me your good vibes -- I certainly need them.

xo almost gold

P.S. Have signed up for both a food writing and travel writing course this Fall. It's time I took some action on my potential. Sometimes, you have to give yourself that much needed kick in the ass...

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.