almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-09-08 - 7:08 p.m.

don't go back to rockville

bay bridge and seagull Post farmers' market, I lounged around my apartment, waiting for my friend M to drop in. She and I had a date to go to see Wilco and REM play.

I met M on the first day of French class in college. As she remembers it, I marched right up to her and made friends. She reminds me of this often since she is normally much more shy and reserved, and carries this memory of me and my directness with her always. During college days, we went to many a concert, including Sisters of Mercy (she was the other lucky girl to whom Andrew sang "Lucretia"), The Damned, The Charlatans, Cocteau Twins, etc. I missed her terribly when she graduated and moved away, leaving me with two more years of school without her.

This was out first concert going since then. We'd both been at that next to final full JAMC show at the Fillmore, but not by plan. Luckily, the show was spectacular. "Walk Unafraid" was so much more beautiful in person, and you could hear the emotion in the lyrics -- it nearly made me cry. "Don't Go Back to Rockville", not played for a few decades in the U.S., was awesome. But nothing can beat closing with "It's the End of the World as We Know It..." -- that song always makes me jump up and dance, and will forever remind me of my favorite skater boy ever, Marc Averil, who I loved to smooch , whose Stussy pants I inherited when they got too small, and who would always ask me (fearlessly) to cut his hair for him. What a fabulous evening.

To top it off, I received word that a boy I adore is getting married. A tiny part of me is heartbroken; but the majority of me is so pleased that such a fabulous boy has found a girl who makes him happy. Three cheers to music, love, and fearlessness!

In other news, I figured out that my work stress is messing up my hormones/schedule. It is nice to be able to write off yesterday's meltdown as PMS combined with lack of sleep. And thank you to the patient souls, like Dave, who put up with my raving and blathering nonsense yesterday. Someone owes you a favor.

xo almost gold

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.