almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-08-31 - 11:40 a.m.

going to a place where all the lights shine on...

versailles I'm not superstitious. And I don't really believe in fate. But I do believe in the power of threes...

Since my worklife is too horrible for words (though I have some interviews in the works), I am focusing on achievable, quick-action result oriented projects at home this weekend. To bring back the sense of accomplishment. Thus, I decided to tackle the hall closet.

I was surprised to see that I had every single poster from my college dorm room/shared house/ and cottage jammed into a half dozen mailing tubes, at the back of the closet. One mailing tube, however, stuck out a bit. It had been mailed to my old SF apartment from an unnamed someone in San Diego. Closer inspection of the tube confirmed it originally hailed from the record store I worked in during college.

I pulled out the poster inside to see what it was: a beautiful Peter Murphy promo poster for Cascade. There was only one person it could have come from, and I smiled at the memory. I continued tossing various small boxes and notebooks out of the closet. Must remind self to never ever buy another notebook or pad of paper for at least the next 5 years.

I pulled out a cool pastic snap-closed folder from my final college job -- the one that showed me that writing and designing communications for a business setting was something that came easy for me. Inside were photocopies of me vamping it up with one of my favorite coworkers, an article on the hip little block of "F" street in San Diego that is now only a memory, and a letter and a story from the same boy who had sent me the poster.

Somehow, this folder had remained in boxes in my storage unit or closet for a good 8 years without me looking inside it. Yet today, I found it and looked inside, and read the story he'd sent me. Then I did what any reasonable person would do: I searched for him on friendst*r. Funny, if I hadn't found the story, which reminded me of his actual full name, I wouldn't have found him there. He's no longer using his nickname, and isn't conected to any of my gazillion "friendst*rs".

Then, realizing he might not just add some random girl whose profile he couldn't read, I searched for him on g**gle. I know for sure that I found him because the story he'd sent me 9 years ago was something that showed up in the results, having been published in a literary journal. I now also know that he's living here in SF.

Is every person I ever knew from SD and lost track of living here now? If so, could they please send me a message RIGHT NOW so I don't keep stumbling across them thusly? Otherwise, I shall be forced, whenever coming across people in public places who even slightly resemble people I used to know, to interrogate them as to their identity. Thank you.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.