almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2001-11-25 - 12:00 p.m.

"the woman who writes feels too much"
-- Anne Sexton

When you write, edit, and manage Web sites for a living, your personal Web projects tend to get out of hand. In addition to working on a site for my Italy photos from this Spring, i'm still trying to get my act together and publish my New Orleans photos...

In the spirit of getting my creative juices flowing, I've given birth to this diary...

I've had PJ Harvey on the brain ever since I saw her play at the end of September...although I've mostly been playing "Rid of Me", the words I hear most often in my head are from One Line on the latest album:

Do you remember the first kiss?
Stars shooting across the sky
To come to such a place as this
You never left my mind

I'm watching from the wall
As in the streets we fight
This world all gone to war
All I need is you tonight

And I draw a line
To your heart today
'To your heart from mine
A line to keep us safe'

All through the rising sun
All through the circling years
You were the only one
Who could have brought me here

And I draw a line
To your heart today
'To your heart from mine
A line to keep us safe'

When she sang the line "from England to America" in Beautiful Feeling, you should have heard how loud everyone cheered.. imagine being at a show in SF (where people are always so cool and detached) and having people feel patriotic. Amazing.

The Sky Lit Up (my favorite song off the last album) was hard rockin'-she was tearing up the stage in her leather knee boots and gorgeous dress (now I know what to buy/make for NYE)...Down by the Water was also really good...almost hypnotizing. Music soothes the ravaged soul for sure...seeing this show was the highlight of an otherwise unimpressive, uninspiring month.

Despite the turmoil in the world, i've become more immersed than ever in work. Or is it that there's more work than ever due to the economic downturn, and all the associated layoffs? 10 hour days are the norm, so it's daydreams of lazing around in Venice at sunset and PJ Harvey's words that keep my brain from getting too fried from the endless meetings and ever-increasing piles of work.

All the time at work hasn't squeezed all the creativity from my brain though. I awoke this morning with a desire to start a slew of plans and schemes and projects...and even managed to log on and update this page.

BTW, I must thank Gary for inspiring me to get my act together to start keeping a journal online. His journal is a great read. Check it out and tell him almostgoldsf (a.k.a uraniumorchids) sent you.

This is not my first foray into journal writing by far though. My first journal was an English class assignment in high school. I wrote in it regularly on a range of topics. The ones I tried keeping after were frequently aborted.

What was my problem? It had to do with the audience. My best journals were ones written at least partially for an audience other than myself. They were far more insightful, well-written and more frequently updated.

Having spent the last few months reading Anais Nin's unexpurgated diaries (I'd read the edited down versions years ago), I'm ready.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.