almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-09-20 - 1:19 a.m.

job trauma

hinge Just as I was starting to convince myself a fulltime job or fulltime contract might be OK, heck, a good thing even, things had to spin all out of control.

First, the contract folks made their decision immediately, and before I could have my questions answered. And now, my recruiter is pissed at me. But, please answer me this -- if one's hours can not be flexible, and one can not access outside email at all from the premises, and is thus chained to the corporate desk 8-5, is that not just acting as a fulltime employee but without any of the benefits or perks of actually being an employee?

I am somewhat OK with the idea of doing a full-time, multiple-month contract job through an agency, getting twice per month paycheck, etc., at less than my normal fulltime salary -- but ONLY if my time can be flexible so I can continue to pursue writing projects and some consulting. Why would I want to give up my ability to do any other work at a rate at which I wouldn't accept an exempt position?

Ugh. Yesterday I had a fulltime job interview for a position that paid as much as my last fulltime job, but can see I'm not a good fit with the person who would be my manager. I have another fulltime job interview today, that pays the same as the contract gig (OK, $.33 per hour more) but has benefits, etc., and since they know it's below my typical salary range, they're open (if we're a good fit obviously) to trying to devise a package (vacation time/ flexible schedule / work at home day) that makes it worth my while. So, wish me luck with this today. It's the one of the three I most wanted. I will be excited for this to all be over because right now, I just feel like vomiting.

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.