almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-09-20 - 7:35 p.m.

kitten present for a sulky girl

versailles My week was long and painful, with an entire extra day's worth of work squeezed in to prep for next week's event, thanks to other people being disorganized/not meeting deadlines...By 4:30 p.m. yesterday, realizing I'd be spending the better part of today at work, I called it a day, and headed home for a "disco nap".

When I crawled into bed an hour or two before my ride was to arrive to take me to the Long Winters gig at Cafe du Nord, I apparently immediately fell into a dead sleep. I remained dead to the world until the intercom blared me back into wakefulness.

Centro-matic were very good, and the Long Winters were even more fun than the last time I saw them, after they (and the crowd) got warmed up. I am glad I hauled myself outta bed and to the show.

A total of 6 hours were spent at work today, including proofing and re-proofing the print samples for the binder contents I've been working on... it's been oh so painful. So much so that my friend J instructed me to go to Sephora to purchase the gift he wants me to have but refuses to go an purchase himself: The Benefit Kitten Shops New York powder puff I drooled over last month. Of course, I wasn't able to leave that evil palace of temptation with only that in hand -- I also came home with their Dandelion face powder (I used to so love face powder*. apparently I am reverting to my old ways all around.) I feel so sparkly and pretty...and able to face another week of this hell at work.

Did I mention there's a dress code for my work event? Oh yes, like toddlers in their color-coded garanimals play clothes, we are required to pair our logo button-down shirts (both of which are long enough that I would consider them to be more of a mini dress than a dress shirt) with specific colored bottoms. Alas, I do not have khaki or camel or tan trousers or skirts to wear with my dark grey shirt. I wonder if they will use this as an excuse to fire me? It would make for an interesting exchange at future interviews if it did... severance of employment due to a sense of style and fashion. Hehe.

Tomorrow is all about the music vid-e-os at RESfest, and clearing all the bills and magazines off the kitchen table so this apartment returns to a state of order that I will be happy to come home to... please wish me luck in my time of great stress and unhappiness at work. I need much strength to keep my mouth shut, and with a smile plastered on, so as to retain employment and thus fund my upcoming travels...

Bon soir.

* My previous love affair with face powder ended after my pretty box of pressed japanese rice powder got smashed to bits while traveling to London in 2001, and its pointy box cover poked through the ziploc bag, evenly distributing white powder throughout my carry-on bag. At least this happened while travelling to an English-speaking country, so I could explain what had happened. I vowed never to travel with it again; this coincided with Pure Beauty no longer carrying it, so I gave it up cold turkey.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.