almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-09-27 - 12:19 p.m.

I survived my corporate event...

american courtyard at the Whitney ...and all I got was a logo shirt. Oh yes, and forced on stage with my cohorts to receive a round of applause. But a spa gift certificate might have been a nicer thank you for my week of endless work days, and the weeks of toil and worry that preceded them...

The clients all thought the event was fabulous and went off without a hitch, which is the best you can hope for.

In this past week, I have eaten far too much hotel banquet-grade meat. Tried to block it all out with a bunch of wine and a grilled flat iron steak with french fries and blue cheese fondue at Red Herring last night...would have worked too had I not awoken this morning with sharp pains in my foot... I see a visit to the hospital in my future... I could barely stand on it. I like how this is just in time for my 2 comp days (following the Interpol and Raveonettes shows this week), and my trip to NYC.

(NOTE: The purpose of this unfortunately fairly boring entry is to let you know I'venot fallen off the face of the earth -- I was only temporarily consumed in work-orchestrated chaos. But I am back now.)

I think this day is best spent in bed, redoing my portfolio in preparation for my interview this week...BTW the HR person called to tell me they picked another candidate for the position I interviwed for internally. I'm not too bummed out since, in all honesty, it would likely have been too dry and boring for me, even if it would have meant a raise. I am guessing they figured that out after paging through my sample book, which is good.

I am confident I will find a marketing/publishing job that is a better fit for my talents and interests. It will just take some time. I will try to be patient...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.