almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-12-06 - 9:06 p.m.

finding homes for the homeless kitties...

SPCA Holiday Windows I am now covered in eau de miu miu. TRANSLATION: kitten stench. This means my cat is going to kick my ass while I'm sleeping (or he'll at least attack my feet.) But it was all worth it, even if I get a few bites and scratches out of the bargain.

You see, I spent the evening with two of my coworkers helping out at the SFSPCA's Holiday Windows, playing with these adorable little kittens to help raise awareness for the SPCA's no kill policy and animal welfare programs, and helping these rambunctious little warm furry purry things find permanent homes.

For more than a decade, the SPCA has found downtown stores willing to give over their window displays to their adoptable kittens and puppies. This year (like last year), Anthropologie is hosting them. Apparently, they've found homes for more than 50 cats in the two weeks or so they've been in the windows.

The SPCA is one of the few charitable organizations that is perpetually on my list to give what I can when I can, be it money, my time, or kitty toys my cat refuses to play with. The fact that they never euthanize any animal that is adoptable is a key reason I feel they are important to support. When my kitty was lost for several days, I remember hoping that if he was picked up by someone who didn't want to keep him that he would be lucky enough to go to an SPCA adoption center where they would do everything they could to find him a new home.

orange irish kittenWhen we arrived, the kitties in the window we were assigned to were sleepy and lethargic. The angelic looking orange kitty you see here was resting in a nice 40-something woman's lap. 3 of the 4 kitties refused to play with the vlunteer whose shift we took over... but we soon reversed that. By the end of the night, we had kitten arms sticking through the holes in the back of the cage, trying to guess where the red feathers were going to pop out, and the cute little orange kitty was climbing around on me, biting my fingers and smacking around the buttons on my cardigan sweater. I bet those kittens are resting in a big heap of fluff right now...

I haven't had this much fun in AGES! Too bad you can't make a full time job out of riling up kittens...

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.