almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-12-03 - 6:22 a.m.

holiday warm up

legion sculpture garden Somehow, I managed to buy most of the holiday gifts I'd wanted to purchase (including many from Anne Taintor), procured a few boxes of cards, and still found time to bake double chocolate pistachio biscotti!

I think I'll schlep the cards to work today, and will finish them up at the dark and divey indie rock bar I'm meeting up w/a friend at tomorrow night... margaritas in pint glasses provide the best fuel for holiday card writing...as usual, I have pretty/sparkly cards, and some tasteless cards for dear friends. The latter have a white trash holiday theme, and are from the very funny Atlas Designs.

I need to make some notepaper for writing letters to go in a few since I don't go in for the pre-fab holiday letter thing. Can you imagine how mine would read? Rough Outline:

  • ran away to London for holidays
  • volunteered at wine event
  • visited Cleveland
  • volunteered at film event
  • volunteered at music event
  • visited NYC
  • volunteered at film event
  • celebrated 5th wedding anniversary w/Maira=Rose in place of soon-to-be-ex husband
  • got divorced
  • visited Seattle
  • had a significant b-day
  • was Maira's maid of honor
  • visited NYC again
  • made it through 3rd round of layoffs at work
  • volunteered at wine event
  • volunteered at wine event
  • volunteered at film event
  • sat around feeling bitter about Rome/London being too expensive for this holiday season
  • went to lots of indie rock concerts over course of the year

BORING!!! Even with a lot of specific blah-blah-blahs attached, it would make for dull reading. Perhaps I could put together a sheet w/3 or 4 photos instead, and label them by the month?

Since we now have about 3 weeks 'till Xmas, I have had to start thinking about NYE plans. The idea I came up with is to let all the parent-type people I work with know I'm available for babysitting at $100 per kid for the evening. I can handle 4-5 kids, which would pay for a significant chunk of my winter trek to Rome and London. I can't imagine why the idea of doing this never came to me before...

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.