almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-08-10 - 9:11 a.m.

le divorce

saint_chappelle_rose_window These days, I typically leave this fine City only by taxi, and then, only en route to the airport. I made an excepton to this yesterday, and hopped on BART to Oakland, to hookup with a friend who's having boy trouble, with the intention to spend the midafternoon in a dark, cool theater watching Le Divorce. Amazingly, SF was hotter than Oakland yesterday. Very odd.

During the previews, I heard a familiar echoing drum beat. I was blown away to hear almost all of "Just Like Honey" by JAMC, quite loudly playing throughout the trailer for Sofia Coppola's film Lost in Translation. I think the trailer ended with some Replacements too. Who would've thought a film starring Bill Murray would have such a great soundtrack?

Le Divorce was sweet, full of pretty shots of Paris. I am pretty sure the throw awa y scene with the family walking along the seine was the one I saw being shot in April when I was there. The kelly bag floating along in the air like the Red Balloon was also a sweet touch. Overall, a nice, happy film for a swelteringly hot Saturday.

On our way home from the theater, my friend's sister (who was with us at the film and driving us both home) looked down at her cell phone for a moment, and rear ended a Lexus. Hard. Hard enough that the seat belt bruised my collarbone and gave me a smidge of whiplash. This must be the 8th or 9th car accident I've been in (always as a passenger), but it still stressed me out a bit. They always do. We wonder if Mr. Lexus might have been coked up or drinking, because, though there was a solid dent in his bumper, he didn't want any insurance information, or to make any kind of claim. He drove off after barely a minute's conversation. Very odd.

By the time we got back into the City, I was wiped out. My phone tag with Maira-Rose wasn't fruitfull until I was almost home, by which time it was too late to hang out. It sucks that as we get older, it can become so insanely complicated/difficult/impossible to find mutually agreeable times to hook up with your friends... But it's also interesting that some friends seem to pop up more frequently, typically due to their flexibility, but also due to their motivation exclusively being spending time hanging out with you, rather than whatever the proposed activity at hand is. I have several friends who will spend a Saturday running errands with me, or pick me up for a grocery shopping trip, or who I will keep company while they do laundry. It is nice to have friends who love you enough to think that spending a Saturday morning at Costco is a leisure activity...

Once I got home, with my pink cheeks from too much time in the sunshine, nothing, not even the lure of sitting in a shady back yard drinking red wine, was able to get me to budge again from my cozy apartment...

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.