almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-08-10 - 7:59 p.m.

no phone for me, please

bridge et le tour eiffel We all have our special little "quirks" that make us the charming people that our friends and fanily so love. One of my such quirks is this: I absolutely detest talking on the telephone.

The teenage girl I used to be (who could easily and regularly talk on her own personal phone line into the wee hours of the night) would be horrified by this proclamation for sure. But it's true. Even if you are a boy with whom I am smitten, and from whom I rarely hear due to geographic and schedule differences, I really can only manage to talk to you for about 6 minutes before I invent a reason to get off the phone. But I assure you, it's not you -- it's me.

In case you are wondering, yes, I *do* have a cell phone. I think it is marvelous as a device for others to let me know they are going to be late for our plans, or to use while on the bus to make last minute lunch or dinner plans while on the way home. But, in all honesty, I get so much more excited when I receive a text message on that phone than when someone calls me on it.

At home, I never answer my phone. My phones don't ring, so I'm not even tempted. Thus, if I pick up while you are rambling into my answering machine, it means I really do want to talk to you.

The night before my birthday, I was at home when my mother called to wish me a happy birthday. She always calls a day early because, somehow, she's always going to be too busy to be able to actually call me with those wished on my actual birthday. I typically come home from some pre-birthday celebrating to find her message on my machine. This year though, I was actually at home when she called, and picked up. I think I lasted a whole 2 minutes before deciding that was a very poor idea indeed.

You see, it's been years since we've been able to carry on polite conversation about anything. For the most part, she's not really interested in me, or what I'm doing with my life. I mean, when I asked if she received my postcard form Paris, she replied "yes". Thinking this might be a topic of interest to her, given her art history minor and fine art major, I started to talk about the trip, prefaced with the fact that I had an amazing time...her reply? "that's nice."

Amazing how "that's nice" can so quickly suck the air right out of a conversation.

Yuck. See what I get for actually answering the phone?

any comments? (3 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.