almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-06-28 - 2:16 p.m.

meh.

I had one of those strange nights where you wake up wide awake at 3:00 a.m., stay up for a few very productive hours writing, then fall back asleep for a couple of hours and woke up feeling like it must be afternoon already.

That doesn't happen too often now, but used to be a recurring theme in college, since I'd frequently get up in the wee hours to write term papers due that day. (is it a key journalist personality trait that one must wait until the last minute to do the writing on deadline?)

The second time I fell asleep, I dreamt my hands were made of some sort of ceramic material, with painted on rings and bracelets. Someone took a tarnished silver nut cracker and encircled the leftmost finger on my left hand and snapped it off. A torrent of dust and ceramic shards came tumbling out from my hollow ceramic hand, through the hole where that finger used to be...

I am not going to the Clint@n booksigning since I gave myself a reality check -- in the nick of time -- about the fact that I can not STAND waiting in lines, and have no desire to be on TV. Two good reasons to avoid that place like the plague. I've waited in line for more than an hour to procure something only once (and I waited 3 or 4 hours at that). And that wait was tolerable only because I knew I could sit on my ass in blamy weather, studying for class, and be guaranteed front row tickets for Sisters. A girl has her priorities.

In other news, my monthly hormonal surge is making me excessively frisky, thus distracting me (and frustrating me) to no end. Bleh. The flipside of the hormonal flux is it also gives me the mean reds. So, at the same time that I want to make out with every hot boy I see, I irrationally hate everyone (yes, even my friends); I hate everything I write and want to delete my journal.)

The crap with the two copywriting gigs that may end up as no copywriting gigs is also spinning my head. I turned down the agency copywriting gig due to overlap with the gig I already committed to with my former employer. But wouldn't you know it... my former employer pushed back their timeline by 3 WEEKS, thus it turns out I could have done that gig this week and next after all. They also have now spread it out over 3-4 months from start to finish. This means I'll have about 1 week a month of work, irregularly spaced. Crap.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.