almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-06-22 - 12:00 p.m.

pain and suffering

hemlock This past weekend, within 24 hours, I:
  • Sawed into my left index finger pretty deeply with my full-size bread knife while cutting my bagel open, causing me to bleed all over the counter
  • Jammed something hard and sharp under my right thumbnail then had to dig it out with the sharp tweezers
  • Burnt my right palm and thumb on a baking dish thus causing me to spill the really hot chicken tikka masala it contained on my foot and allover the counter I hadn't already bled on
  • Nearly blew out my ears while fixing my broken stereo receiver -- now the receiver is working again, but the hearing is so-so. The ears are still ringing. But at least I can play music again. Heh.
  • Poured scalding hot coffee into my lap while trying to avoid spilling it on the cat who was about to jump onto my lap

Per the official website and various media sources this morning, Lollapalooza 2004 was cancelled, despite having an amazing line-up. Now when am I going to see Polly play her new songs? Perhaps I'll win the lottery -- then I could jump on a plane and go European music festival hopping. Yeah, that's it.

Anyway, the cancellation of Lollapalooza can't bode well for Curiosa, the Cure's traveling festival with Interpol, The Rapture, Mogwai et al. Its ticket prices ($57 for L.A. show presale tickets PLUS service fees) is pretty steep, and they don't have the same concentration of big names Lollapalooza did. Perhpas, if we're lucky, this will mean Curiosa will get bulked up a bit with some of the Lollapalooza refugees.

In other news, I got a super part time job helping to promote a women's professional development education non profit. Basically, I get to go hand out postcards at community events. I better find my really big sun hat...oh, wait -- it's still foggy here most days until September, so I should be OK. Haha.

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.