almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-11-11 - 7:23 p.m.

naughty

grand canal, venice

Technically speaking, it is not in my job description to spend an hour on amazon.co.uk browsing through the CD singles...But, you see, I really wanted the new Interpol CD single and no one here in the states was real helpful when I called about it. The girl at V*rg*n started to lecture me about how new releases come out on Tuesday and not on a Monday, but, snippy former DJ and record store employee that I am, I cut her off with an "I know that's how it works here; this single was released in the UK. TODAY."

The girl at Am*eba asked if Interpol was spelled with two "o"s and couldn't find it, so perhaps they will have it eventually. No matter though. I don't have the patience to wait for "perhaps". I gave up and placed my order online. Since it would have been silly, in my mind, to order one measly CD single and pay as much to ship it to me here as I was paying for the music, I went ahead and splurged on, oh, perhaps 5 more singles, to bring the order up to a respectable level. Very naughty, even for me.

Here's what will be shipped to me:

  • "Dress [SINGLE]" PJ Harvey (I have this on vinyl but since I blew up the iBook to stereo thingy, I can't rip it onto the computer -- this is the easy/cheap alternative)
  • "Last Nite [CD 1] [SINGLE]" Strokes;
  • "Love Burns [SINGLE]" Black Rebel Motorcycle Club (NOTE: I bought htis while in London last year, but the clerk put the wrong damn CD in the case, so I ended up with another copy of the full album which I left w/my charming hostess for her listening pleasure.)
  • "Spread Your Love [CD 2] [SINGLE]" Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
  • "Outtathaway [CD 2] [SINGLE]" The Vines
  • "Obstacle 1 [SINGLE]" Interpol (a.k.a the whole reason I came to this site in the first place. ahem.)

I hardly feel bad about my rampant consumerism though, as I have pretty much decided I can't justify spending the cash to go to Europe to run away from my ghosts of Xmas' past. I've already spent my travel allotment for the year. Work hasn't been paying out bonuses thanks to the horrible economy we're experiencing, which means I haven't really had much expendable income this year. And what I've had, I've spent on travel already. You know, London, NYC, Seattle, then NYC again. The part that *really* sucks though is my workplace requires you to take off Xmas week, either as unpaid or by taking your vacation time. For tax and vacation preservation purposes, I think I'm going to take most of it unpaid and then run away to Italy and France early in the year (Jan/Feb) when the costs are low...still torn between spending a chunk of time in Spain next Summer or doing the 3-week culinary history of France course in Paris... but that's all stuff to worry about later.

If I *do* stay here for the holidays though, I plan on making the most of it. In a Christmas dinner at the Ritz Carlton dining room or Zuni sort of a way. Having a vacation at home in my City is something I typically do once a year, so I'm overdue. It could be fun. Though, clearly, not as much fun as last year's holidays in London with friends. God. I would love to spend another lovely day at the Tate Modern, and have some more of that fantastic gouda, bacon and potato salad at the restaurant at Saint Paul's crypt...

That last entry (about my farmers' market), in case you were wondering, was my first assignment for my creative non fiction course. I need to resubmit it with more emphasis on sounds and smells, says my professor, but I rec'd a good grade nonetheless. I am going to reward myself with an hour of reading the latest Anne Rice novel while sipping a ruby red glass of pinot noir. And with that, I bid you adieu.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.