almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-01-18 - 7:33 a.m.

Is Superficiality the New Black?

tivoli Earlier this week, a mere two hours into my work day, I handed my favorite coworker a sticky note that posed this question: "Is superficiality the new black?"

After handing it to her, I arched an eyebrow, smirked, then strolled to the kitchen to brew myself another cup of tea.

Most days, I am able to tolerate the inconveniences, politics, and, er, "challenging personalities" that surround me in my place of employment. Other days, I am bummed that I chose (relative) financial stability over potentially more creative and fulfilling work. Of course, in the City, it's a Catch 22...

When I worked as a journalist, the subsistence wages (even when working two jobs) that didn't allow for much above and beyond paying rent and student loan bills made me unhappy. You see, for me at least, there's little joy in living in the City when I can't afford to get out and enjoy the food, music, films, and all the special "limited time only" events that find a home in the CIty...

Whenever I start to romanticize returning to journalism, I have to remind myself of the cold hard facts. It wasn't all happy times writing about the people, places and things that bring me joy. The reality was my editors always had final say over what my assignments would be, and the final contents of my articles. Only when self-publishing (or writing in one's journal) does a writer get to have pure, unadulterated creative output.

Since the folks I work with are, on a whole, driving me crazy, I'm going to channel my energy into the post-holiday party I somehow ended up in charge of despite not even having been part of the planning committee. Oh yeah -- I was drafted once they decided they wanted a wine tasting. Now, who was it that piped up that I was the wine guru of the group? I seriously owe that person a personal thank you. Ahem.

One of my off-the-cuff remarks in some hallway conversation I don't even recall has additionally resulted in the party being flanked by a cookie exchange. Everyone has to bring 2 dozen cookies; Mine are going to be pistachio and chocolate, though I suspect I'm going to make some French butter cookies too. After all, once the kitchen is a huge mess, you might as well just continue baking...

For the wine tasting portion of our party (and because I am against playing any sort of stupid group teambuilding/icebreaker games) I'm designing a tasting scorecard for everyone to use when tasting the 6 wines I chose. In addition to the usual places for notes, On the back I'm including varietal characteristics and winemaker notes on the specific wines we're tasting. I'll post a copy of it here once it's done.

Yes, I'm going well above and beyond what's expected of me here. Clearly, with my piddly little $150 budget TOTAL for throwing a wine tasting party for 15-17 coworkers, they couldn't be expecting much... But I find I am not able to do anything half-assed.

Must go warm up the oven...Cheers!

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.