almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-06-18 - 6:15 a.m.

obstructions

First, note that the 5 Obstructions will be playing here for a week. From the Landmark Theatres newsletter:

THE FIVE OBSTRUCTIONS - opening June 25 at Lumiere Theatre
In Lars von Trier's debut entry into the world of documentary, he challenges his hero and former teacher, veteran filmmaker J�rgen Leth, five times to remake Leth's 1967 cult short The Perfect Human, a film von Trier claims to have seen thirty times. For each remake, von Trier imposes a series of obstructions (some formal, some downright metaphysical) and discusses the outcome with Leth before sending him off to shoot the next version. Playing the part of a na�ve anthropologist, Leth attempts to embrace the cunning challenges set forth by the devious and sneaky von Trier. In Danish and English; Danish portions subtitled in English.

Official Web Site: http://www.kochlorberfilms.com/Theatrical/infopage.aspx?Id=1

Dilemma
Accidentally (seriously -- not on purpose), wires got crossed and I am now, apparently, on tap to do an in-person interview with the hot boy a good friend considers to be "her rockstar boyfriend". This person is not easy to get to agree to interviews, so I have no idea how this happened at all really. Perhaps they confused me with someone else. Anyhow, I think my friend would freak out excessively about this because there's no way I could bring her along. I already met her former "rockstar husband" back when I was a cute young thing. I am torn between weasling out so she doesn't get mad and doing it anyhow. I remind myself that she met D*vid B*wie last year while leaving me outside without a wristband to get in. We both thought she was meeting M*by, but still. What to do.

Good News I got the final word that I am on for the project w/my former former employers, the one that will pay my rent for the rest of the summer! And today I have the in-person interview for the super part-time job that would pay half my rent each month. And finally, last night's media networking event was pretty fun, though small. Despite the all too possible horror of a really bad photo of me ending up on the sponsoring organization's website, I am happy that I met someone who might be able to hook me up with more business writing gigs, and a writer who lives a few blocks from me who's looking to expand her writing group.

What a glorious week!

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.