almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-06-13 - 2:48 p.m.

midsummer's night frivolities

I believe Sharon and I have decided, for certain, that the goat cheese fondue at Luna Park is better than its Last Supper Club fontina-based counterpart. Regardless, we sopped up every last bit of it, and our antipasti plate too, leaving precious little room for our fettucine with asparagus and mushrooms.

The EZ5, our next stop for the evening, was an interesting little venue. The most interesting aspect of the evening though was trying to figure out if a certain previously presumed straight boy in our party understood that he was being picked up on by a guy. As the evening progressed, we learned that his attitude is "whatever" and that he was willing to go with the flow. It provided a good half hour of "uh...?" and puzzled looks. I think it's always best to ensure your barmates know in advance with whom you'd want to flirt, so they can assist if possible, or at least not accidentally interfere with your game.

Kudos to Mike for playing the 24-Hour Party People DVD -- I was gonna hurt somebody if it had been "Finding Nemo" on repeat all night...

After having a lengthy conversation on the topic with Bryan, I realize that bars are fun to go to with friends, but I am just not (and never have been really) the kind of person who goes and chats up strangers at bars. Exceptions made only for bartenders and guys selling merch. And the only music that makes me want to shake my ass on the dance floor isn't played outside of goth/industrial clubs, and I've yet to go to one in this fine City, and don't really see that happening.

So, I had a lot of fun watching all the antics, and hanging out w/Sharon and Mike, but I know for sure now that bar hopping is not for me, except in large groups of people I already know. Who knew I'm actually fairly shy about making an effort with new people?

Waiting for the bus home, 1:40 - 2:05 a.m. on Geary at Kearny, was a little creepy. Two very drunk Irish boys stumbled past across the street, loudly singing some tune I didn't recognize. When they yelled out "Hellllo Luv!" at me, I pretended to be deaf. I think it's a bad idea to talk to strangers at bus stops in the wee hours of the morning. While on the bus, a sandal-wearing passenger, who gave off signs of being excessivley stoned, tapped me on the arm as I zoned out with Singepore Sling on the iPod at full blast. His reason for interrupting me? To engage me in this exchange:

Stoner: "What do you call a person who flosses?"
Me: "What?" (thinking to self, is this a knock knock joke?)
Stoner: "What do you call a person who flosses?"
Me: "Um, do you mean a dental hygienist?"
Stoner: "No... you know, just a person. Who flosses his teeth..."
Me: "I don't think there's a specific word for that."
Stoner: "Really? They're not a flosser?"
Me: "Uh, not sure. Good question though." I then restarted the song on iPod at maximum ear-splitting levels, and stared at the bus floor until my stop...

In other news, I am excited about the kickass potato salad I just made with the teeny tiniest banana fingerling potatoes from the farmers market. They are so small, in fact, that they are in the salad whole! I am also trying to decide what to do with the product reviews I've written for a certain review website. The in-group b.s. and snotty/mean ladies my mom's age are more bother than it's worth to me. Are there any cool places where I can share my travel related reviews, specifically? And will diaryland ever get its slowness issue resolved? If all of you would only move over to LiveJournal, I'd be such a happy girl...

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.