almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-06-09 - 11:50 a.m.

6-9-94 letter to my lover

written while staying in a cheap motel with my mother's white trash boyfriend...

The Royal Motel

255 Lombard St.

San Francisco, CA 94123

6-9-94

Evening

Hey Nathan... Today marks the beginning of my new life -- my first day at work...and work looks like it will be fairly untaxing mentally...Plus I found that since I am the office manager and Edwin (an almost evil name) is the sales manager (for the EOE ads in the magazine) I am my own boss unless the owner is up from San Diego. Cool, n'est pas? Also I'm hourly, full-time, which means I get paid for 40 hrs/wk, but, I won't usually even work that many hours (unless there is a huge amt. Of undone work) -- but I'll be paid for full time work. So I'm guaranteed my $1600 every month (minus a huge IRS chunk.)...

Steve is trying to talk me into going for a drive to the ocean, or out by the Golden Gate Bridge, or out to Treasure Island. Remote, with jutting cliffs, sharp rocks, and cold water. I don't think so. Steve and I did have the occasion, earlier this evening, to bond over the issue of welding metal shelves as opposed to building wood ones. Very interesting. I've spent the past 48 hours with Steve as my main example of humanity.

Gives one quite the interesting view...

I applied for a cool 3rd floor apartment in the Haight on Fillmore -- it's the one I said had the perfect room for building the darkroom. They're doing a credit check and will let me know if I call them at 2:00 tomorrow...

Meanwhile, we drove by a bunch of places in SOMA, and I've decided I don't want to live there. It may be chic to live in a ghetto with homeless drug addicts lounging on your doorstep, but then again, my being chic has never depended upon public opinion polls...

It's funny that since it is now hip to live South of Market, in the ghetto, they can charge $650/mo. For a studio in the kind of neighborhood you wouldn't park Aysha's old car in... Who knows -- maybe in San Diego the area around LiveWire will become fashionable. Think about it. This whole house/hip hop fashionable ghetto thing could really catch on. Taco truck food will undoubtedly be the next trend.

My mind is now Knox clear gelatin. Steve's ramblings are coming into my unconscious, bombarding me like 2 million annoying little gnats. I fade in and out. And he's still going. And going. And doesn't even notice. Now he's talking about his soap opera, "Days of Our Lives". He's missed it all week you know. It's 9:30 p.m., I have to get up at 5:30, and I want to go to bed. I'm tired from running around at work and from driving around looking at apartments with Steve. DRAINING.

So, with that in mind, I am signing off... I hope your vacation with your comrades has given you the vitality needed to sustain you in your San Diego Summer...I'll keep you posted on my living situation -- don't forget: your plane ticket awaits you...

Dreaming of your [censored for this journal ]...

xx<3 almostgold

P.S. Tropic of Cancer is my Psychocandy.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.