almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-06-03 - 12:20 a.m.

weary

It was clear to me that the cult of self-deprecating humor was an invasive non-native species when, single for the first time as an adult, I first filled out a N*rve profile a little over 2 years ago. Yes, this means we're heading up to the big 2 year anniversary. It's also the 10 year anniversary of my living in this fabulous City that I so love. How unfair to have these two events linked in my brain.

I think self-deprecating humor is fine in small doses, but at a certain point, it grates on my nerves thanks to its falseness. The person making fun of himself/herself doesn't usually mean it after all; it's just to get a laugh, and it's even somewhat expected of you, dear listener, to defend the self-deprecator's honor.

This all bubbled up for me today thanks to some feedback I received on a writing proposal for class. It also supports the non-included feeling I'd already had due to the way the class interacts with each other. I'm not sporty, so I can't write about mountain climbing adventures. I'm not a middle class/aged mom or married lady, so my stories aren't littered with cute anecdotes about my loved ones.

Is there no room in the world for a single girl looking to experience and talk about life from the single girl's perspective? In a post-S*x in the City world, must we ladies be married or coupled up to have a voice?

It makes me weary. As does the putting in too much effort to maintain relationships with other people. Yes, we're all busy, but that's not an excuse for not replying to emails your friends send that are asking you for specific information only you can provide ("did I leave my favorite t-shirt in your car?"), or calling when you say you will call, etc. I am just not feeling the love, all around. We're talking close friends -- not folks I've just met -- here.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.