almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2001-12-20 - 6:10 a.m.

love lies bleeding

lion

My little domestic lion decided to share his feelings of rage with me this morning...my arm is still stinging from the swift sharp swipe of his claws. This reminds me to add "clip kitty claws" to my ever-lengthening "must do" list.

I may be the only person in my department actually working on Friday, which is, to me, a good thing. Peace & quiet (except for the 2 hour videoconference), and no one to ask me to turn down my music (I have inexpensive sony headphones that allow more bleed through than some coworkers can handle when they're having a cranky day.)

While attempting to destress a colleague who was in full freakout over too much to do in not enough time by convincing her to listen to the sigur ros CD I had at my desk, I found out another coworker who I would never have suspected is into some interesting music. That coworker came to my desk and skipped through the tracks and decided to go to Virgin and pick up her very own copy. Awesome!

As part of my christmas spirit experience, i've started hitting up management at work for things I need to do my job better or more pleasantly. I don't think i'll get the full wine cellar under my desk though -- something about corporate responsibility and all that...

Seriously though, I hope to come back from the holidays to an office with better equipment and software, and external training for my team so I can retire from the my unofficial tech support/software training role. And no, I haven't been nipping at the egg nog!! Just have a spot of optimism is all...Of course, I have 3 or 4 largeish projects to finish by end of the day Friday, and have unmoveable dinner plans Friday night. This may mean skipping out on Lord of the Rings tonight which would be a major bummer. BUT, on the other hand, the person I'm slated to see Lord of the Rings with may not have picked up our tickets, in which case we won't be going anyway since I have a strong dislike of and impatience with standing in line (except when Xmas shopping with a friend.)

Overall, this year sucked. It may in fact even be the crappiest year I've lived through (NOTE: There may or may not be more entries on that theme later since I prefer not to dwell on the past.) The sunny side of that equation is: 2002 would have to try really damn hard to be as bad. So, you see, my optimism for the future knows no bounds at this point. Now, time to get ready for work and obtain some coffee!

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.