almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2001-12-20 - 8:34 p.m.

no name, no slogan

...and no photo today either. Meant to take the digital camera with me to take some downtown holiday decoration shots but left it on the floor in my mad rush out the door this morning. I am just now getting home from work. You know, the place I left my nice warm bed for right after posting this morning's entry.

OK, so I stopped off for a pint and some grub on the way home too. But I was still at work for 11+ hours today, trying to finish up too many projects before the holiday break. Everyone has been really mushy and huggy as they depart for the holidays this year -- quite a change from last year. It's as though no one wants to feel the regret of not having told the people they like/love/appreciate how they feel about them, so people are overcompensating. It doesn't bother me though since I am typically more physically demonstrative than most people I work with. It's still a little odd though. And I need to watch it or else I may end up accidentally asking out a coworker which would, to me, be a very, very bad thing.

This week has been tough at work though because of everyone's souped-up sense of caring, sharing and love. Everyone kept asking me about my ex-boy and if he was going on vacation with me since not everyone knows what's up. I was able to tell 2 people yesterday (although "tell" is perhaps a misleading description of wordlessly holding up my hand to show them my wedding ring was nowhere to be found on my hand.) Today though, all I could manage was saying "no" with a smile as tears welled up in my eyes (which not a one of the people noticed, thank god.) Luckily, once I get past telling someone the news, I am able to joke about cute boys or convince them of how well I'm dealing with it. But choking out the words "I'm divorcing him" nearly kills me every time.

I am certain it will get better and easier in time. Eventually I'll be able to announce my status as a soon-to-be-divorcee without any tears or a catch in my voice. But I am not there yet, even if I *have* found a cute boy I like to kiss. I certainly need this vacation, plus lots of New Year's Eve champagne, more than I've ever needed them before! Wish me luck...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.