almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2001-12-23 - 8:30 a.m.

bring on the dancing horses

Vatican Lion My prediction about no one else working on Friday was wrong...I *was* one of fewer than a dozen people still there after 3:00 though. In fact, my department head snuck out while I was listening to PJ Harvey's "Rid of Me" CD at top volume to avoid taking part in another of the goodbye scenes that had been playing out in my cube all day...

BTW I'm repeating the photo of my lovely kitty above so I can see him if I get homesick or wracked with guilt during my holiday travels...i wish i could sneak him into my carry on bag...

Finally got to see Lord of the Rings yesterday afternoon on a big screen in an old movie house...and it was FANTASTIC! The evil ring wraiths had an especially entrancing dark flair to them...I always liked the elves the best when I read the books and the movie only reinforced my love for the elvish nature...and Orlando Bloom -- what a cutie! Funny thing is, I just realized he looks like a younger, British version of my ex-boy. I am consistent in being superficially attracted to boyish good looks (you know, thin with long sinewy muscles, no stubble or facial hair, hairless chest, etc.)

But I digress.

I think I may have to send my lovely holiday hostess a link to this diary so she can get caught up on what's going on, and to clue her in that I'm planning on having an AbFab sort of holiday in London, rather than a sedate touristy vacation...then again, i think she knows me well enough to expect this...If all goes to plan, my New Year's Card will be virtual, and feature a photo of my, drinking from a bottle of champagne, under the mistletoe, with a cute boy smooching each cheek. A girl has to have goals.

;-)

I am not excited about the long wait at the airport, and having to show them how all my electronics work (i'm bringing my laptop and digital camera plus their accessories with me), setting off the security alams, etc. But I *am* excited about flying virgin airlines. Apparently, I will get to drink free wine or champagne while playing video games and channel surfing for 12 hours. Sounds like a fun time to me! Plus, a co-worker loaned me noise cancelling headphones and a cute black eye mask so I might even be able to get some sleep...another co-worker gave me a ribbon board for holding mementos from this trip, and a third coworker encouraged me to wear something nice on the plane so I could get upgraded. Have I mentioned recently how awesome the people I work with are?

Anyway, i expect updates to be sketchy or infrequent for the next few weeks, but I do have something to share, from yet another coworker...some things to ponder as we leave 2001 behind and start a fresh new year next week.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

COMPLETING 2001

Before beginning a new year in full force, it can be supportive to complete and acknowledge the previous year.

  • What was the biggest risk you took in 2001?
  • What was the smartest decision you made in 2001?
  • What one word best describes your 2001 experience?
  • What was the greatest lesson you learned in 2001?
  • What is the most loving service you performed in 2001?
  • What is your biggest piece of "unfinished business" in 2001?
  • Who were the three people that had the greatest impact on your life in 2001?
  • Have you acknowledged these people?
  • What else do you need to say or do to be complete with 2001?

CREATING 2002

  • What would you like to be your biggest triumph in 2002?
  • What would you most like to change about yourself in 2002?
  • What are you looking forward to learning in 2002?
  • What about your work are you most committed to changing and improving in 2002?
  • What brings you the most joy and how are you going to have more of that in 2002?
  • What can you do more of to support your co-workers in 2002?
  • What one word would you like to have as your theme for 2002?

Some food for thought...have to go pack now...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.