almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2005-06-09 - 9:17 p.m.

oh, yes, i am slacking off here

Not that I mean to. It just happens.

The same way my cat trauma just happened. I came home from work one day and my beloved tuxedo kitty was incoherent and unresponsive. $1500 worth of medical treatment and a week at the vet later, I found out he has kidney disease that was exacerbated by a blockage and an ecoli infection. My poor baby. I thought he wasn't going to make it, especially due to his hunger strike at the vet which carried over for his first few days at home.

Have you ever tried to force feed an uncooperative cat? Let me tell you, even when it's one of his favorite treats (vanilla ice cream) it's a huge pain and no fun at all. But that was better than him spitting the banana flavored clavomox all over me (and the neat little trick of foaming it out of his mouth.)

He's slowly warming back up into normal-ish behavior, though he's got a lot less pep than prior to his emergency room trip.

I wanted to board him at the vet for my upcoming return to Italy vacation, but am afraid he'll starve himself to death, so I've enlisted the aid of some reluctant friends to act as catsitters. They are reluctant not because they don't love him but because they are concerned he might get sick while I'm gone and no one wants to have to deal with that. Ugh. I am sure he will be fine, however. Yes. Repeating that over and over in my head.

I've finally hit the really excited pre-vacation stage. 2 weeks with my boy all to myself in my favorite travel destination. What more could I want? In a way, it's also a trial run to see if we're compatible to live together. Yes, we spend th bulk of our time together now, and even run errands and grocery shop together, but we're still both, essentially, guests in each other's homes, not partners in making a home together. That's quite different.

So, for 2 weeks, we'll be nesting in apartments together. Deciding upon which neighborhood shops and vendors to make our own. Cooking dinner together. And falling asleep all snuggled up every night. And no 8:00 a.m. meetings!!

I so need a vacation. Here's hoping this one livesup to its potential. And here's to a return to the Pantheon. Ciao.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.