almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-05-18 - 11:50 a.m.

procrastination central

Having my fl*v*rpill and travel writing class deadlines both hit on Tuesday sucks. It means I spend all day procrastinating about doing the writing for both. OK, so that's not ALWAYS the case, but it's mostly true.

This week, I was reminded of the one thing I hated about being employed full time as a writer: you often have to write about topics you don't care about and are not interested in. This was the case for the travel assignment this week: 200-300 word service piece on the Olympic Games in Athens. Worse yet, the research sucked up 2-3 hours because I couldn't bear to submit something that was too horribly boring. Ugh.

I wrote it and submitted it. And it's terrible. I won't be posting it here. My lack of interest shows through, despite my dressing it up with some perky architectural renewal imagery.

Oh well. At least I'm happy I was able to get this last minute Commonwealth Club event on the mistreatment of Iraqi prisoners of war added to the line-up for the next events email newsletter issue.

I also dealt with a pesky problem with the logo for my non profit client. Apparently, they showed it to some Board members who read the logo as a letter rather than the object it was... and that's all they saw in it.

The funny thing is, there are several fairly strong symbols in the logo, yet, they were stuck on a letter. Ugh. Thus, we're going to try to flip or tweak the object so it no longer looks like the annoying irrelevant letter that I never saw. I used the survey feature on my other journal to get completely impartial, non-involved feedback. 11 of 13 respondents saw the intended symbol, with 6 of 13 seeing the pesky letter, but only in conjunction with seeing the symbol too.

I think I may allow myself to slack off as soon as I finish my email newsletter listings. No Netfl*x in the house, so it may be a good excuse to bust out with the Sims (I hope they've been feeding themselves and going to work in my absence. Hehe.)

xoxo

P.S. See comments for the final feedback on the article from my instructor.

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.