almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-11-02 - 7:06 p.m.

the new

cute kitty, eh? Seeing these Interpol dates makes me stop and consider a smart boy's suggestion that, since I can't afford to spend Christmas in Paris, I could, instead, spend Christmas in NYC doing French things...:

Interpol Dec. dates
December 6 Washington DC 9:30 Club
December 7 Richmond, VA Alley Katz
December 8 Atlanta, GA Cotton
December 9 Carrboro, NC Cat's Cradle
December 20 New York, NY Bowery Ballroom
December 21 New York, NY Bowery Ballroom

There's a big gap there though -- perhaps they'll come out to SF again before then? I think I'll have to contact some reliable journalist sources to find out for sure... those NYC airfares sure are cheap right now though...

It's been less than a month since I travelled to NYC, so it seems absurd that I wouild already have wanderlust tripping me up and causing me to stare out the window and daydream, but, it appears to have resurfaced. Like an overachieving heroin addict, I'm having shorter intervals between my need for a fix.

SIDE NOTE: For those of you other than Maira-Rose, I must note that the exceptionally sexy photo on this page is of none other than my beloved kitty kat. me-ow. He sure is cute. Not like those punk, angry kittens.

This is a quiet Saturday night at home, without even a movie rental, all by choice. Tomorrow night will find me in the heart of the Tenderloin at the Great American Music Hall, listening to the Dismemberment Plan 'till the wee hours, which should make for a dragging-my-ass sort of a Monday. I resolved, with a witness, not to let my silly job get in the way of living life fully for even a minute, so I am not going to worry about that right now. Besides, after staying out late with a bunch of amateur substance abusers on Halloween (i.e. I went to see the Strokes)I was mostly fine on Friday...

BTW, in case you were unsure, mixing a few hits of e, whiskey sours, and a spliff is not a good idea. I learned this nugget of wisdom by watching a high school girl freak out in front of her friends after said combination. As soon as she squatted down and started sweating, I knew her time in the pit was limited...poor silly girl.

Based on the strength of their rockin' performance, I purchased the Mooney Suzuki's CD at Amoeba today. Though the songs are solid, I must admit to preferring the rock star antics and raw live sound to the canned goods delivered on the CD. Oh well. At least the Sigur Rose () album was pretty and I got to chat w/a cool girl I'm acquainted with who works there too...made my journey away from home a good thing...

From my window tonight, with the aid of a clear dark sky, I can see the pink neon lights from the Alexandria movie theater and the orange glow of the sodium lamps that line the avenue as it heads out to the ocean. This view was one of the main draws to this apartment. Alas, the Alexandria may be converted to apartments and retail space soon, thus depriving me of my neon cityscape. In my last apartment, I had a neon cross in front of a baptist church lighting up my night... not sure how i'll fare without such a beacon in the sky outside my window... I realize that if I packed up and moved to NYC or Seattle I'd be unlikely to have a view of anything (let alone a cool retro neon sign) so I best be getting over this issue soon...

I have much raeding to get to, plus much writing to do this evening, including my first assignment for my non fiction class...

bon soir,

almostgoldsf

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.