almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-12-29 - 11:42 a.m.

planning for a rainy NYE

I'm working at home for the second day in a row thanks to being sick. As I keep telling people who ask, I feel as though a small animal with sharp nails is attempting to claw its way out of my throat to escape into the world. The stupid alcohol free cough syrup hasn't fixed that or done anything about the nose either. I miss the c*deine Cough syrup. That stuff worked.

I think the good soaking I got on the way to work on Mondayis responsible for my sickliness. The boots you see here (black and winter white houndstooth with pink trim) were purchased at lunchtime on Monday, as a reaction to the 10 days of rain and flooding the weather channel promised to serve up. The should serve me well in the future. And they are really soft and cozy.

Unlike Christmas, which I truly never enjoy (though Team Sharon certainly had a good time this year), I have major ambivalence about New Year's Eve celebrations.

For 9 years or so, my ex and I used it as an excuse to indulge in a full day of eating sumptuous treats, drinking too much champagne, playing records, smooching and the like. The NYE before our January Death Valley camping trip, we actually pitched our new tent in the living room to try it out.

Thus, there's been a little bit of a hole in my year where NYE is concerned. Yes, last year I was with a boy I was seeing, but it wasn't the same, as this was a boy whose highest praise for anything I served him was "that's not too bad". The prior 2 NYEs sans-N involved parties (1 here post breakup, 1 in London mid breakup). That's how I discovered the going out for NYE is only my thing if it's done in the UK and thus involves being smooched by tons of cute boys.

So, this brings us up to this year.

I've been invited 1st and 2nd hand to a bunch of parties both here and plane rides away. But nothing has grabbed me. I don't have the energy to get all dolled up to venture out iin the rain to get in a cab or on MUNI to spend the evening primarily with a large group of tipsy strangers, ending my night without a boy to kiss.

For that reason, I'm staying in. I have NYE day off, and plan to spend it crafting/scrapbooking, and cooking up a storm. My friend kate may or may not be playing with me, which would only lead to more treats. I gave my LJ-updating friends an open invite to come on over and help me drink champagne and eat slow cooked treats but expect to actually spend the 2 days pretty much by myself, which is OK. Introspection is a good thing.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.