almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-11-17 - 2:12 p.m.

read it in books...

metarie cemetery Each night, before bedtime, I've been reading a few chapters of the latest Anne Rice novel. Yes, it's pure fluff. But like purchasing a big stick of fresh, hot, pink cotton candy at the county fair, you know what you're in for and it's a good time even though it isn't very filling. The visions from this book that have been showing up in my dreams prompted posting the Metarie crypt photo on this page. I need to go back there with the digital camera and snap away.

This Sunday morning was spent reading, as most of my Sunday mornings are spent -- reading. Reading my local newspaper, the NY Times, the stack of mail covering my kitchen table, and the emailed stories collected throughout the week and sent to my inbox. For the most part, my local newspaper is best read online, which is efficient and keeps me from being irritated at its thinness. I resent the idea of paying 5 times the daily price for the pleasure of reading adds for home electronics I don't wish to purchase. Today though, the paper *did* provide me with some very important news: Jeffrey Steingarten will be reading from his new book on Wednesday night!!! Of course, this means cancelling on a museum date with a friend, but he will get over it. After all, when else will have a chance to have my book signed by this man, and get to hear him speak about food? Mmmmm. Sigh. I am exceptionally excited about this. I don't think I'll be brave enough to give him one of my chocolate chip cookies though...he leans towards the toll house recipe while I modify an old betty crocker favorite...

The NY Times, on the other hand, is best read in paper format while logged onto the Internet. That way, you can easily email the articles that capture your fancy to all friends and colleagues who would enjoy them. In fact, I think this is what finally helped my new boss and I bond a little. We had both read and enjoyed some tiny little article buried in the Sunday Times magazine...

The first item that caught my eye was that awesome photo of Conor Oberst. Wow. I am such the sucker for the dark hair pale skinny boy look. The article is also pretty damn interesting, even though it relies heavily on use of lyrics, the author's observations, and third-party commentary rather than quotes from Oberst to tell his story. If that's not enough reading about him, you can also check out DIW magazine and their big feature on Saddle Creek (in the print issue, not online, alas).

Today's NY Times also had a piece on the architect of the new Vitra showroom in Manhattan that makes me almost consider going back to school to get the architecture degree I'd always dreamed of...Vitra makes those tiny little chair miniatures you may have seen in some of the finer museum/design gift shops. AT $100-$500 a pop, I'm never tempted to buy one. Most unfortunately, however, their grown-up size reproductions of classic pieces of modern furniture, with prices upwards of $3k, *do* tempt me even though I'd not want anyone to sit on anything so expensive once I got it home. The same theme draws me to the idea of being an architect that made me happy as a DJ: having the ability to influence landscape (in this case visual and textural rather than auditory) in harmony with your aesthetics.

In my previous entry, I commented on some of the joys of being single. The Times had to go ahead and publish a rebuttal to my positive assertions in the form of a "day in the life" of a dating show recruiter and an overview of this season's bachelor/wanna-be-brides "reality" show. What would you say if you were having a lovely evening at a pub in Manhattan and a stranger came up to you and tried to schmooze you onto their dating show? I imagine I'd ask if they were smoking cr*ck, but one never can tell...I might instead whip out the digital camera, start interviewing the recruiter, and whip up an article for the Sunday NY Times...

If my freelance antennae were so finely tuned, I'd be making enough extra cash to justify making a run to The Wine Club and picking up some of the Chateau Haut Chaigneau 2000 bordeaux blend that they describe as "possesses abundant amounts of black fruits intermixed with notes of caramel". That is, BTW, pretty much how I would describe my idea of the perfect glass of red wine. The Chateau Cambon La Pelouse, as a similar predominantly merlot-based blend also sounds tasty. Of course, I don't need any additional wine...

It's finally warmed up just in time for me to start baking cookies. I may have to reconsider my plans and, instead, trek outside 'cuz you know the sunshine won't last...

P.S. I'd be ever so pleased if you would take my food survey if you haven't already. Thanks!!

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.