almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-11-19 - 7:23 a.m.

local adventures

PS1 On a typical Tuesday morning, I'd be rushing around the apartment, putting on lipstick, searching for keys and bus pass, then schlepping to work on MUNI. But not today. I've taken the day off. Some bosses must think an employee who requests a Tuesday off must be going to a job interview. My boss, however, is used to my taking off Mondays and Fridays in the same week, or Wednesdays, or whatever day strikes my fancy. There's no alarming her, really (exception: the high calorie/fat food I eat freaks her out).

I would have liked to have spent a few extra hours sleeping, but needed to get up and print out my resume, eat breakfast, drink coffee, etc., before my partner in today's adventure arrives here at 10 a.m.

We'd considered going to the Cantor Center for Visual Artsin Palo Alto, but, alas, they are not open on Tuesdays. We'd also wanted to visit the Filoli house and gardens, but they are not open in November. Luckily, the places I've been to on the Peninsula and would like to go back to are all open today: SJ Museum of Art, the Rosicrucian Museum, and Draeger's.

The plan at Draeger's is to grab some picnic fixins to eat once we arrive in San Jose. I'd wanted to get in some vintage shopping/rummaging too, but it appears the rummaging in northern california site is no more. And that behemoth of city guides I won't name has the audacity to include, in its "best vintage clothing" list, a bunch of places that are clearly consignment shops that won't purchase items that are more than 3 years old which pretty uch rules out 30s bias cut gowns, don't you agree? Oh well. I really don't need another hat or vintage cocktail dress -- they just instigate trouble. heh heh.

During the very long car ride, I hope to snap some photos, give some more thought to Thanksgiving festivities, and write up my "event description" piece for my writing class, provided the afternoon's event is as interesting as we think it will be...stay tuned...

P.S. I'd be ever so pleased if you would take my food survey if you haven't already. Thanks!!

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.