almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-11-21 - 5:09 a.m.

it's setting in...

dahlias After a coworker sent out the invite to my going away party, the flurry of activity in my cube and my email inbox made it clear I hadn't actually told everyone I was leaving... a good friend who had been out of the office yesterday and had not heeded my post-it note to come see me before turning on her computer saw that email 1st thing, walked over to my cube, and burst into tears.

I felt like crap. But I hadn't wanted to call her on her cell to tell her since I knew she'd have mixed feelings, especially since she just moved back here from the east coast.

My morning continued on like that until 10 a.m., when my 2 back-to-back 2 hour meetings started. Normally, I dread such a long stretch of meetings, but it worked well to keep my mind occupied.

My voicemail messages tell me the boy came thorugh surgery OK, so I feel relieved. I am having some black roses delivered to me at work this afternoon (from Martha's Flowers) to take to him at the hospital tomorrow. It's excessive and extravagant, but I know he will be charmed at the effort and their color. And since he'll be bed-ridden for a good long while, he needs something pretty to look at.

While waiting for that "all clear" voicemail, I went out for happy hour w/coworkers, and had my friend S from San Diego meet up with me to act as my escape hatch. We ended up at Q for dinner, where we had a very good bottle of Byron pinot. He insisted on buying my dinner as a celebration of my new job, which was incredibly sweet of him. I susect I will be on a fairly liquid celebratory diet for a few weeks...

The reality of what quitting means is slowly setting in. I am going to miss so many of these people, but can't wait to jump in to a new routine. I am happy to be so excited about the opportunties the next year will bring...

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.