almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2004-10-17 - 8:34 p.m.

still sick

Root canal appointment one, followed by appointment two 8 days later, followed by a nasty cold. I've had to cancel on magazine parties, art openings, voter activism events, the invite-only LitQuake closing night party, and even free baked treats. This sucks.

My jaunt to the library to return my overdue Wilco biography (which I never got around to reading and had to return since someone else put a hold on it) left me light headed (I blame the robitussin), so my errand-running was cut short. Instead of going to Trader Joe's for necessary grocery shopping, I retreated to the apartment and made a cup of Mariage Fr�res vanilla tea. At least I remembered to drop my absentee ballot and my Netflix DVDs in the mail on the way there so I need not go back outside in the cold.

My patheticness coincided with a close friend's significant other breaking things off. The plus for me on that is he's been spending lots of time with me, keeping me company while getting over his mopeyness. He took me on a Costco run on Friday, we watched movies and ate indian food Saturday, and went to see Team America: World Police last night, followed up by some live vintage jazz at Amnesia. But today, he's back to work and I'm stuck on the sofa reading a book. BTW, Team America is amazingly offensive and hilarious. There's a vomiting scene that made me cry thanks to laughing hysterically.

I am slacking off on the writing due to feeling crappy. But this week I have a bar feature review, a print CD review, two online magazine previews, 3 film fest screeners to watch, and a RESFEST-related review for Liz's fabulous website the People's Dance Party. I'm exhausted just thinking about it. Events-wise, I am volunteering at a media mixer (taking photos), interviewing with 3 more people for a job I really want, and interviewing a vegan baker at an urban retreat center. All pretty cool and interesting. I am hoping lying low today will recharge my batteries enough for all this stuff.

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.