almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-04-19 - 9:22 a.m.

transmission

blooming tress in NYC Ah�nothing like a tasty chocolate chip walnut cookie for breakfast with a steaming hot cup of coffee�yum. Just the right level of sinfulness to compete with the gallons of red wine still coursing through my blood stream from last night. Maira-Rose and I went to Luna Park for dinner, you see, as part of my not wallowing in my bad day plan.

(Special Note: she�s the second person from my everyday life with whom I�ve shared my journal, the first being my London hostess.)

Since it was a special occasion indeed, after sucking down a tasty margarita (yes, with salt on the rim, thanks) I selected a bottle of Shafer merlot for the table. Much tasty food was consumed, including bubbly goat cheese fondue, and a stuffed pork cutlet that was simply divine. But the ladies� night didn�t stop there. We were up for some excitement�only, we couldn�t decide where to go next. Thus, we headed to Maira�s place, sucked down more wine, harassed her significant other into programming a dozen or so shows into the tivo, made popcorn while reading aloud from our diaryland entries, then burnt out and went to bed before 11:00.

Perhaps that doesn�t sound like such the lively evening to some of you readers, but it was certainly much better than sitting around and feeling sorry for myself, which could have been an alternative plan if I were more of a mopey girl.

I ended up with a supremely chatty cab driver on the way home this morning, which was a little hard to take at 8:00 a.m. *BUT* he gets bonus points for driving me through the park on my favorite shortcut on the way home.

Have been dancing around the apartment listening to Ian Curtis sing this morning, with this line stuck in my head:

Touching from a distance, further all the time�

Now, as reported yesterday, I�m about to set out for a girlie day of photography, lunch, massage, and shopping, perhaps capped off with cocktails�

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.