almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-08-17 - 4:44 p.m.

far gone and out

sutro baths In typical fashion, I'm multitasking: While writing this entry, I'm watching "Kings of Ads", a Japanese collection of European TV ads (mostly from the 80s?) made by famous film directors. So far, the black and white jean-Luc Godard ad for fashion house Marithe et Francois Girbaud is the best one, but I have yet to see David Lynch's ad for "Opium" perfume...

While trying to figure out who some of the directors were, I came across a site that lists the amount of money a variety of directors have brought in over the course of their film career. It makes me sad to see how little money the major films of many of my favorite directors, like Mike Figgis, have brought in. I'm glad directing commercials and other corporate work (the same way many musicians or their labels sell use of songs though it did freak me out when I heard Tones on Tail on TV one night) can help these folks stay afloat...it was also interesting to see that the third evil dead film grossed 10.5 million in 1993. Who'd a thunk it?

Jean Pierre Jeunet's office full of speeding people for some insurance firm (?) was very funny. Amazing to see his signature style exemplified so well in a short clip. I'd link out to information about this video, but as is typical for much of the stock at my favorite video store, this is one of those imports that was clearly transferred from some non-U.S. video format. Clearly not something you'd find at your local evil chain video shop.

I plan to spend the entire rest of this day in bed, despite an invite to what will be quite a swanky cocktail party this evening. I am just not in the mood to get all dolled up and make droll conversation whilst sipping a cuba libre. I can hardly believe I'm saying that! I'm almost *always* in the mood for a cocktail party and wearing girlie dresses. Must be a combination of this sucky week and a bad case of the mean reds, as Holly Golightly would say.

I tried to rent The Royal Tenenbaums since so many people have recommended it to me, but after reading the box blurb, it really didn't grab me so I put it back on the shelf. The videos that made it home with me (none of which I've seen before) are:

You may assume I rented Vatel due to its magnificent food. This would be an incorrect assumption. It was rented entirely for the Julian Sands eye candy.

If this hibernation does its trick, then I may schlep myself to the Haight tomorrow to browse the bins at Amoeba, pick up a burrito from El Belazo, and hook up w/one of my girl's night partners in crime to engage in some reckless frivolity...

Historically, I've made a trek down to the pub for a pint and a burger and a good session of flirting w/my favorite bartender who has been a fixture there for a good four years. Alas, I'll have to find a new favorite bartender as it appears he no longer works at the pub. Perhaps he was fired for giving away too much free beer to cute girls...

In case you're curious, the David Lynch ad for "Opium" had a real "Blue Velvet" meets "Twin Peaks" feel, down to the raven-haired timeless beauty on the chaise lounge...

In addition to my loafing about watching films and drinking merlot, I hope to do some more writing. I'm especially enamoured of something I started writing yesterday as a potential journal entry. Upon closer inspection, I saw it was more of a short short story or poem than a journal entry...the line between fiction and reality can get blurred when you make your living as a writer...what starts as a true story (or as "true" as your consciousness will allow), morphs into a drama, a fiction, a love letter from someone who doesn't exist...ah, the beauty of creativity...

any comments? (1 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.