almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-06-25 - 6:17 a.m.

don't know about you
but i am un chien Andalusia

horned skulls Over the weekend, I received more well intentioned advice about love, life, and dating. Interesting how everyone I meet, upon hearing I am newly single (it still feels like it's new though it's been closer to one or one and a half years depending upon where you're counting from) imparts their own words of wisdom upon me. Sweet girl that I am, I've decided to collect this advice here, so it can be enjoyed by all.

Of course, if you have dating advice, please feel free to share it with me (but don't be surprised to see it end up on these pages.)

Things I Need to Do
(according to my helpful advice givers)

  • What you need to do to get over ex-boy is to fall madly in love with a cute boy.
  • What you need to do to get over ex-boy is to date a bunch of other boys (a.k.a. recreational dating.)
  • What you need to do to get over ex-boy is to keep things casual -- just find cute boys for fun.
  • What you need to do to get over ex-boy is to move away and start fresh somewhere.
  • What you need to do to get over ex-boy is to stay in the City and have even more fun than you did when you were together.
  • What you need to do to get over ex-boy is to stop hanging out with him.
  • Carry pepper spray.
  • Learn karate or some other form of self defense.
  • Follow your heart.

Things I Shouldn't Do

  • Don't get involved with a musician (drummers were singled out as an especially notorious species of musician to avoid at all times).
  • Especially don't get involved with a touring musician.
  • Don't do anything drastic such as moving away, cutting your hair, getting a tattoo, getting engaged, etc.
  • Don't ditch out on guys after just one date -- give it some time.
  • Don't go out with any boy you don't know for sure you want to kiss.
  • Don't make plans with strange boys that involves them driving you anywhere.

With advice like all this above is it any wonder I swore off the recreational dating? In a way it's too bad since I had perfected the "handshake of death"...This was the end of the date handshake that made it clear there would be no kisses exchanged...and that there was no need for or interest in further dates.

Is this predominately a girl issue? Or do guys end up with this same sort of advice tossed salad from their friends?

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.