almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-01-26 - 7:58 p.m.

"forgive me for I have zinned"

Clouds Reflected on Museum Window Good lord. Imagine 2 football fields full of wine bottles, with all the zinfandel you can drink...Fantastic. You've just gotten a sneak peak at what I did with my day...more details about the tasting will follow tomorrow once my eyesite is clear and my brainwaves are more normal.

NOTE: When I'm speaking of Zinfandel, I'm talking about luscious, spicy red wine...not that stuff that comes out of a box and is labeled "white zinfandel"...I mention this here since more than half the people I've talked to about the Zinfandel Tasting I attended today looked momentarily horrified, then asked me flat out if I was talking about white zinfandel.

I ended up attending the tasting alone which is what I'd do next time also unless someone was persistent about tagging along. With so many people in the cavernous buildings, having a companion at the event isn't much fun -- you are twice as many people to try to push your way to the front to obtain your samples and can't hear each other talk anyway.

After working at least 90 hours over the past two weeks, going out on 3 blind dates, and hanging out with friends and co-workers every other night, I needed some alone time. Oddly enough, tasting wine with thousands of strangers fit that bill for me.

Since I am too tired to continue reading "A Cook's Tour", or the issues of Saveur and Harper's I'm partway through, I'm going to go read some back entries in beecroft's diary...stay tuned for Zinfandel notes.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.