almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-03-30 - 7:53 p.m.

don�t let me down (gently)

pretty flower This week was pretty terrible, but it�s done now. I�m starting to feel happy and perky in short spurts, so I know I am on the road to wellness. Must have been a combination of the fantastic matzo chicken soup a dinner guest made for me earlier this week and the 2 full days of bed rest my doctor forced ever-so-gently upon me.

As a break from my rigorous napping schedule (described here earlier this week), I rifled through my big cassette tape carrying case and found one of my favorite circa 1992 mix tapes. It�s been on constant rotation since Tuesday. Half of this mix tape is posted to mix-tapes. I could not post SIDE A since, consisting entirely of Jesus & Mary Chain songs recorded from their original vinyl recordings (mostly 7", 10", or 12" EPs), it doesn�t play by the mix-tapes rules. But, for your pleasure, the entire play list follows:

moderne

SIDE A

  • Surfin� U.S.A -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Some Candy Talking -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Psychocandy -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Just Like Honey (demo) -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • You Trip Me Up -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Just Out of Reach -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Darklands -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Rider -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Rollercoaster -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • The Living End (Peel Session) -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Heat -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Reverence (Al Jorgensen remix) -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Almost Gold -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • Catchfire (live) -- Jesus & Mary Chain

SIDE B

  • For Grownups -- Lords of Acid
  • I am Really Stupid -- Whitman Sampler
  • The Passion of Lovers -- Bauhaus
  • Don�t Let Me Down (Gently) -- The Wonder Stuff
  • Confetti -- The Lemonheads
  • Groove is in the Heart -- Deee-Lite
  • You Could be the One -- Sisters of Mercy
  • Jesus Built my Hot Rod -- Ministry
  • One Way or Another -- Blondie
  • Pink Room -- Angelo Badalamenti (Twin Peaks Fire Walk With Me soundtrack)
  • Get That Love -- Thompson Twins
  • Slave to Love -- Bryan Ferry

The last two songs on this tape were clearly all about 80s nostalgia. The Whitman Sampler song is likely only familiar to you if you lived in Southern California at this time. It was a rather mean spirited song, consisting mostly of samples of Dave Kendall, the spiky-haired 120 Minutes-hosting MTV VJ of that time. It�s title does double duty as its chorus and the most often repeated lyric.

I have to admit it always makes me giggle, even when listening to it on headphones at work. You see, it conjures up images of an otherwise docile friend who liked quiet days sipping tea and reading books, who actually spat upon said VJ at a show in Tijuana at Iguana�s (the much missed cave-like venue in which I saw so many shows.) But I digress.

I was distressed yesterday to see that the Sanrio store on Stockton street (the much-glorified 2-story temple of hello kitty, really) has closed. They are now making due with a small shop in San Francisco Shopping Centre, on the lower level. All I can say is at least the new shop is incredibly transit friendly, since you see it as you go into the mall from MUNI or BART.

And as my public service today, I sold back 3 JAMC-related records that I discovered I owned multiples thereof. So, if you�re looking for these:

  • April Skies (double-gatefold 7") on Blanco y Negro -- Jesus & Mary Chain
  • yawn! (7" on Hot Tam!) -- lazycame
  • Munki (double gatefold album on Sub Pop) -- Jesus & Mary Chain
Head over to Amoeba on Haight lickety-split and ask the nice New Zealand buyer if they�re on the floor yet.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.