almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-03-31 - 1:00 p.m.

facing up to the facts

entrance to the pantheon in Rome This time last year, I was gearing up for my trip to Italy...two weeks of gelato, red wine, and massive doses of culture. I opened up the NY Times this morning to two travel cover stories on places I want to visit in Italy...so many places I want to go to.

This year, instead of going on a Springtime vacation, I'm immersing in the SF International Film Festival. Since I'll be volunteering quite a bit, I may not actually get to see too many films (unlike my SF Indie Fest 6 films in 5 days experience.)

Luckily, I've already seen a few of the films in this year's lineup that have caught my eye. I saw "Me Without You" on the flight home from London on Virgin in January. With its romp through the 80s and 90s music-wise, and its eye for the details of what ultimately can cause us to drift apart from our best friends, this is a film I highly recommend. The fact that Virgin offered it up as one of the films I could choose from on my long flight home is the main reason I'll fly them whenever possible. Much better than the dreck the major U.S. airlines push on you.

Th other full length film in the lineup I've seen (other than "Bulworth") is "Dance of a Dream". They screened this fun Hong Kong film with its send-ups of the stars' own public images, and spontaneous group dance scenes (such as the one at the BBQ) that are clearly spoofs of Hollywood musicals from the 50s & 60s, after the volunteer orientation for the festival. I'd only have gone to see this film if someone recommended it to me, and am glad to have seen it. Judging by the giggling of the audience members who didn't have to rely on the subtitles to understand the dialogue, I clearly missed out on some of the intricacies of the film due to my lack of Hong Kong pop culture savvy.

I haven't yet worked out a realistic schedule for film going, but here's a list of what's caught my eye thus far:

Quite a few films I�d like to see�The early morning sunlight was chased away by a blanket of fog, so it looks as though I won�t lament being stuck inside for the rest of the day, rather than trekking out to the beach (which is what my first impulse was upon waking this morning to sunny skies.)

Jim Reid's voice has crawled back into my brain, and this song is just rattling around there...it has the sleaze and the grime of latter day JAMC at its best...it's on both the freeheat "don't worry be happy" EP and remixed on the newly released "RETOX" EP. Enjoy.

Facing up to the Facts
I can't eat
I can't sleep
I can't think
I can't talk
I can't laugh
I can't run
I can't hide
I can't fuck
I can't fuck
I can't fuck
I can't fuck
I can't ...
I'm facing up to the facts

I can't kiss
I can't love
I can't move
I can't walk
I can't sleep
I can't scream
I can't shout
I can't fuck
I can't fuck
I can't fuck
I can't ...

you know there's no safety net
you know this is all you get
you know I can't take no more
I'm facing up to the facts

don't worry be happy....
don't worry be happy....
don't worry be happy....
don't worry be happy....

BTW, when *will* freeheat mosey back across the pond to play for us here in the States again? I'm becoming impatient...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.