almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2001-12-05 - 6:28 a.m.

the back of love

me_in_a_photo_booth Seeing Amelie last night almost makes me want to be willing to fall in love...such a sweet movie. In the spirit of that film, i've included my favorite photo booth image of myself on this page. These days, i like the sticker photo booths where you can choose a border for your photo and have 16 of them to stick all over everyone you know or everything you own.

;-)

Amelie still had the traces of what I liked about Jeunet's other films, such as Delicatessen: funny montages of people across the city doing the same thing at the same time, or completely different things at the same time. I also loved the pity parties poor Amelie would throw for herself, imagining herself a martyr in B&W film. I wish I hadn't waited so long to see it -- I did the same thing with Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. Everyone had raved about it, so I never saw it in the theater; only recently saw it when a friend loaned me the DVD. At least I saw Amelie on a bigger screen.

In the Bay Area, shy folk who spy the man or woman of their dreams but are too chicken to do anything about it post on Craigslist, in the "Missed Connections" forum. The stories can be a little funny...lots of spurned lovers also post here about how they are really, honestly, almost for sure 100% over their ex. After every concert in the city, the board fills up with posts about the concert goers...and many of the email lists I subscribe to feature Missed Connections (or MCs as the fans of the site call 'em) alerts...it's sort of the Bay Area's own customized soap opera...

The only thing that bummed me out about Amelie is I didn't get to see it w/my ex-boy. We've been friends for more than a third of our lives, and seen well over 1,000 movies together (film is our thing -- we'd sometimes rent 6 movies for a weekend in). This made him the perfect movie companion -- i wanted to look over and share my laughter with him a few times. I'm sure that feeling will fade in time.

Looking forward to seeing Echo & the Bunnymen play with the Psychedelic Furs tonight. Wonder if I'll see anyone from high school at the show? I always associate the Psychedelic Furs w/KROQ and Molly Ringwald movies, and thus, with high school. Glad to now associate Echo with the opening of donnie darko!

Off for another scintillating day at work.

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.