almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2002-05-31 - 5:57 a.m.

fountain While daydreaming on the bus home from work, I had a realization that what attracts me to people is the same as what attracts me to the art that I love. It also explains why I knew from the start the last boy I dated was not going to make it very far...

You see, he didn't like modern art. I could've lived with him not being crazy about contemporary art (since my own taste in this area is very narrow). He came into my apartment for the first time, took a look at the print on the wall of one of my favorite panitings (a Rothko from LACMA's stellar collection), and said "You like this?" Bad sign. He hadn't even seen the Gottlieb yet. He only liked art with identifiable pictoral representations of people. Yet I, among other things, love colorfield paintings (not *all* colorfield paintings, mind you).

When I'm standing in front of an expressionist or colorfield painting, I'm reacting to the hue of the color and its lyrical nature, the movement in the brush strokes�the overall feeling or vibe of the painting, rather than a reaction to a surface image. What you get out of such a painting depends upon how you approach it and what you are bringing with you to its viewing. The paintings don't typically have a specific image, goal or feeling stated that they want you to take away from the work. This is why I can sit for a long time in front of a Rothko I've seen a dozen times before with a stupid smile on my face�they just make me so happy!

(As an aside, showing too much joy and enthusiasm in a museum appears to be frowned upon by museum-goers. They seem annoyed if you appear to be having more fun than they are. This appears to be the case at SFMOMA, at least.)

I'm drawn to people in the same way -- by the energy they give off through their voices, mannerism, and the way they carry themselves. There isn't typically a good way to tell people you're attracted to their energy or good vibe without coming off sounding like a loony Californian�oh well. There are far worse fates.

;-)

Off to work! The last day of this nice short week�it will speed by, in meeting after meeting after meeting�

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.