almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-10-17 - 1:04 p.m.

bad burrito

rincon annex I am well aware my neighborhood is justifiable more well-known for its dim sum than its mexican cuisine. However, since I'd had a fever and not been hungry at all since Wednesday, I crawled out of bed yesterday afternoon in search of a burrito. Specifically, I wanted carnitas.

About 5 blocks from my house is a local mexican burrito/taco chain. Since I already knew the local tequila joint's food was not so tasty, and the local family place was also so-so, I decided to duck in under their red awning and finally try them out. I ordered a carnitas super burrito with everything.

Things started out promisingly enough -- the cook grabbed a big handful of carnitas and spread it out on his work surface...BUT he then proceeded to dice it into tiny pieces, and set aside no more than 1/4 cup of meat for my burrito. I almost cried. If I thought I could have cancelled my order right then and there, I would've done it. The texture of the long chunks of tender pork is a key part of the carnitas experience. In this case, I suppose even that wouldn't have helped it since the meat was dry and lacked the crunchy browned outside I love, and which is a key characteristic of carnitas.

If I hadn't had them squirt the chili sauce all over the meat, it would've comlpetely lacked any flavor. Not even the copious drenching of sour cream or guacamole helped. Then again, what can you do when the rice to meat ratio is 2 or 3 to 1? It's hopeless.

I ate about half, then tossed the rest. I don't think I've ever tossed out a burrito before. Even the $4 burritos at Zona Rosa on the Haight are tasty enough that I work my way through them...

At least I'd picked up a bag of Terra frites at the organic grocer's on the way home...

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.