almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-10-12 - 3:48 p.m.

the best laid plans...

my workplace There were so many things I wanted to do today. Many of which I tentatively committed to, such as:
  • going to a cocktail party on Nob Hill w/my gay boyfriend
  • lunch at a neighborhood place w/my friend and neighbor J who I haven't seen in a few weeks
  • dropping off a birthday present at maira-rose's house
  • grocery shopping w/my friend S, and getting a ride home with all my purchases
  • meeting up w/dearanxiety and various and sundry folks to get to meet her parents and her new beau

So far, I have cancelled on all but the latter. You see, it is annual planning time at work, and, since my manager is still outo n leave, the chore of pulling together our annual budget/strategy plan falls to me. If I was paid her salary (twice mine in case you are wondering) perhaps I would feel less bitter about giving up my Saturday and Sunday to create aplan that I hope to not be around to implement.

Unfortunately, if I *am* around, I will be the only person doing any implementing, if thepastyear and a half is any indication...to think that I left the non profit world for Corporate America because I thought there would be more resources for getting things done, more careerpaths, and people I could learn from...

Sorry. Didn't mean to give you a ride on the bitter bus there.

While still in bed this morning, drinking coffee, I applied for a couple more jobs, and sent out some inqueries about doing more arts/entertainment/food writing. We'll see what turns up. So far, the writing for fl*vorpill has been a lot of fun, and has honeslt been the impetus behind getting back in the writing mind set. I hope next month's food writing class has similar affects.

Last night's show was a blast... I'd never heard The Evening before, and liked their pretty new-wavey music despite the sound being shit (as is too far the case at this venue.) Calla, whom I'd first heard opening for Interpol at the Fillmore early this year, was *awesome*, and I liked Longwave, though not as much as my friend S, who is, apparently, an uber fan. She left quite a nice little bruise on my thigh from pounding her fist into it whilst singing along, for emphasis. Must break her of that habit pronto, though it was cute to see her so excited...

No shows on my immediate horizon, other than a top secret studio session in 2 weeks. Have some listings to write-up for fl*vorpill tonight after I'm done with this evil evil plan...please do wish me luck. Have ordered in a tasty french dinner for motivation and sustenance..

Cheers!

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.