almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-10-07 - 10:40 p.m.

lost in translation

northfields station "I'm lost," said Bob to his wife on the phone...and she didn't get it.

Such a tiny moment, but I was there with him. Only, when I was most lost I never realized it. I never spoke it out loud to my significant other...

I finally saw Lost in Translation tonight with the long lost friend from SD. As an aside, this may in fact be the first film we've ever seen together. I really can't remember...

The moment in which they are drinking sake and watching La Dolce Vita, with the mewling kitten, and Marcello... yes, that touched my steely blue cold heart, and reminded me of so many squandered Sunday afternoons spent w/my ex...

But it was truly the ending that got me. I don't want to ruin it for anyone who hasn't seen it yet. It's just so perfect and beautiful, especially thanks to the music. I could see that song coming since I'd heard it in the trailers. Since I hear it in my head all the time (it's both my favorite song ever and the soundtrack to my high school/college days)...

If I hadn't caught myself and said "Can you believe it!!" to my movie going companion when I heard those first few drumbeats (is that you, Bobby Gillespie??) I woulda bawled like a baby. Instead, I made it onto the bus before a single tear hit my cheek. I messaged my ex to tell him to go see it, but didn't mention that song -- he deserves to have it come at him fresh, and unexpected.

Please go see this film now, and think of me. G'night.

any comments? (3 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.