almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-10-04 - 6:20 p.m.

kitty stretch Did I mention here that 2 coworkers (that I know of) projectile vomited whilst in the midst of our client event?

Well. It appears that there was some sort of a flu bug going around, that I happily avoided�until today. That means instead of a carefree Saturday spent tearing around the City, and picnicking in Dolores Park with friends, I�ve spent the entire day indoors, washing anything that may have been germified, and catching up on my reading.

I�m currently flipping through City. It helps me with my wanderlust. Whether I mean that it fuels or satiates said wanderlust is up for discussion. Regardless, I am now jealous of all who got to see Mike Figgis� installation at the Valencia Biennial. Interestingly, they have a multi-colored bat as the festival�s symbol� Since the biennial was over on the 30th of last month though, I am now wondering why it took me so damn long to receive the Fall issue of the magazine. What�s going on??

On the list of things I am looking forward to this Fall, the Diane Arbus exhibit opening at SFMOMA this month is certainly one of them. Not much makes me happier than a good photography exhibit in my hometown that I can go back and visit whenever I need some inspiration. Photography is certainly one of the museum�s strengths, especially given the comparatively narrow breadth (unfortunately not offset by any depth) of its early 20th century collection.

I personally prefer the exhibits mounted by the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco much better that SFMOMA. However, as our only local museum dedicated to modern art, they do sometimes end up with some good traveling exhibits. I will grant them that. But after the gorgeous new DeYoung building opens, we�ll see what transpires�

Current Reading List

I *would* be reading the new issue of Readymade too, if they hadn�t messed up my subscription. :sigh:

In other news, I finally reconciled my last bank statement to my Quicken files, and have determined that, thanks to not receiving any real bonuses this year and not being paid scale for what I do (my company prides itself on paying 2/3 of market value in salary and used to make up the rest in performance based bonuses), I can not actually afford to go to NYC this month and still go to the UK for the holidays unless I change jobs this month and thus cash out my 3 weeks of vacation pay.

This depressing realization comes only 2 days after determining that my boss, who is on leave, and who, in the entire year plus tenure of being my boss, has completed exactly 2 projects, both of which I worked on extensively, earns twice my salary. This is even more distressing in light of the fact that my previous boss, who worked her ass off, and who was the most inspirational/mentoring boss I�ve ever had, only made 50% more than I did. I am glad that I know though. It certainly changes the level of responsibility/work I�ll expect her to be responsible for�

This grouchy girl is going to go crawl into bed with her cat and watch The Good Girl now. Please send recommendations of more movies to rent and other new books to read�

P.S. Go see Intolerable Cruelty when it opens this Friday. I saw it at a film society screening this week, and it was laugh-out loud funny (even if you're not a fan of Mr. Clooney's.)

any comments? (0 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.