almostgoldsf main page previous entries about me tell a friend about my diary email me sign my guestbook

2003-09-30 - 11:51 p.m.

stellastarr*

subway Addendum to the entry I wrote just a few hours ago about my Interpol show ushering experience and my anticipation of the Raveonettes show....

Despite that compelling feature in The Stranger, Kittens for Christian didn't quite click with me (or the crowd.) Stellastarr*, on the other hand, is my new favorite band after the amazing, blistering set they tore through. I am really fucking impressed. I don't remember the last time I made a run for the merch table as I was 2 or 3 songs in to a set by a band I'd never heard before. This may be a first. I snapped up the full length CD that just came out, and the two UK singles for good measure.

When am I gonna hear them play again? They're apparently from NYC, so perhaps I'd better plan my NYC visits around their tour schedule? :sigh: So happy. Such good music.

Raveonettes were also good (though they didn't capture my heart the way stellastarr* did), and played some of my favorite songs off the EP and the album, but the vocals weren't loud enough which took the edge off some the songs.

Since I spent all my cab fare on the CDs, and didn't want to wait by myself in the tenderloin for the bus home at midnight, I cut out of the show early with my still quite sick friend (who drove me home). There were only 3 songs left, but she needed to put herself to bed, which I completely understand. Besides, it allowed me an opportunity to tap a certain cute boy (from a certain other NYC band I love) on the shoulder and congratulate him on the fabulousness of their show last night, trade silly, flirty smiles with him, then run away into the night, to my coach (i.e. my friend's car) that was conveniently parked just a few steps from the door, before I turned into a pumpkin.

Goodnight.

any comments? (2 so far)

previous - next

recently on almostgoldsf...
in defense of an email box I came to do battle with SPAM - 2008-05-17
hello 2006 - 2005-12-31
Happy Thanksgiving - 2005-11-14
bon voyage - 2005-11-05
October already? - 2005-10-09

guestbook * swap list * mix tapes * who am i? * rings * surveys
get your own diary * yesterday's news * home * travelogue * wish list

All contents copyright almostgoldsf, 2001-2004. All Rights Reserved.